About Ericsberg Castle
Ericsbergs Fideikommis AB owns the properties that previously made up Ericsbergs Fideikommis. The properties are leased and managed by AB Ericsbergs Säteri. The property portfolio includes approx. 100 permanent residences and approx. 50 holiday homes.
The place where Ericsberg is now located was previously called “Pintorp” or “Pinnatorp”, which is mentioned among other things in 1508 when the squire Knut Nilsson of Bosgård sold the croft to wife Anna Karlsdotter, widow of the knight Erik Eriksson (Gyllenstierna) d.y.. Pintorp then stayed within the Gyllenstierna family.
It was started to be built by the Riksdag Baron Eric Gyllenstierna and completed by his wife, Beata von Yxkull. The son Christoffer Gyllenstierna had the castle rebuilt quite soon after, according to the fashion of the time, in the Baroque style. The architect was probably Mathias Spihler.
After the countable Gyllenstierna family died out in 1733, Ericsberg was bought by the equestrian master David Henrik Hildebrand. He expanded the holdings considerably and in 1778 made it a fideicommission for his son, David Gotthard Hildebrand, who died in 1808.
He in turn bequeathed it to his nephew Carl Carlsson Bonde. This was inherited by his son, Colonel Carl Jedvard Bonde. His son, Colonel Carl Carlson Bonde, inherited the estate in 1895. The fideicommissis was disbanded when the last fideicommissar, court forester Carl Jedvard Carlsson Bonde, died in 1988.
Furthermore, Ericsbergs Fideikommiss AB consists of the following areas:
- Forest land. about 11,000 hectares.
- Arable land. 2,300 hectares.
- Pasture. 800 hectares.
- Other land. 800 hectares.
- Water 1,100 hectares.
- A total of 16,000 hectares.
The history of the park
The baroque park at Ericsberg dates back to the end of the 17th century. In all probability, it was completed a few years after Christoffer Gyllenstierna completed his castle here at Ericsberg in 1687. A contemporary eye description says the following about the park “It is a beautiful garden decorated with many rare herbs and fruits”.
No drawing of this park has been preserved today, however, Erik Dahlberg’s copper engraving can give an idea of how the park was intended to be designed. In all probability, however, it was not carried out exactly according to the copperplate, but some of it may well have been carried out.
During the 18th century, the park fell into disrepair and became more of a fruit and kitchen garden. In the middle of the 19th century, it was decided to once again create a beautiful ornamental park in front of the castle. It is to certain parts of this park that you can see today. The well-known landscape architect Edward Glaesel has also influenced the park when, at the beginning of the 20th century, he made a proposal for redesigning the park, which was partly carried out in the baroque park.
The castle park
The castle park In the baroque park you can experience the strictness and symmetry that characterize a classic baroque park.
In the park you can also experience F.W. Scholander beautiful fountain. Around the plantings there are low cut boxwood hedges and oak hedges that frame areas with beautiful roses as well as brickwork. In the middle of the park is the beautiful rose parterre, which in the summer turns into a blooming gem.
The baroque park is surrounded by the linden avenues planted in 2007. Lindallén replaces the old avenue which was one of the few remnants of the original baroque park.
The replacement has been carried out in as historically correct a manner as possible, e.g. then the new trees are planted in exactly the same place as the corresponding tree it replaces. A rarity among trees that can be experienced in the baroque park is the yellow-flowering horse chestnut (Aesculus flava).
David Henrik Hildebrandt
According to a ghost story, it is at Ericsberg that the so-called Pintorpafrun walks again. There are different opinions about who Pintorpafrun really was, including Anna Karlsdotter, widow of the knight Eric Gyllenstierna and Beata von Yxkull, wife of Erik Gyllenstierna, as well as Gabriel Oxenstierna’s widow Anna Gustafsdotter Banér, even though she never lived on the Pintorp estate.